Journey

Sail in ship of ambition and anchor at harbour of success

Should one join IAS for “powers” ?? Ankur (topper) of IAS answers this way

Well Ankur Gargh The Topper of IAS is really a very frank guy I must say . I has mailed him about my dilema and the following was his reply

“The ‘powers’ vested in an IAS officer should not be the yardstick which one should use to decide on the option of joining the services. Joining the services would certainly be very different from most other placements, as almost all the latter are jobs, whereas IAS is a career. You will have to take your own decisin based on your temprament, competence and interest in administrative issues.

Again, how one finds the ‘execution of powers’ would be a personal decision. For me, it has been an immensely satisfying experience till date. I could not imagine myself in any other job. Thats the reason why after 4 years of an IIT Degree and inspite of selection in all IIMs for an MBA degree, I chose to opt for the Civil Services. But then, its a personal decision and may vary from person to person.

To your question ‘is it worth it’ – my reply when answering for myself would be – yes, every penny of it. Would it be worth your while for you – I am not really the best person to comment.

PS: Ankur , Dude sorry for not asking ur permission to publish this. But this ll help many man …. So am publishing this

25 Comments»

  PARVEEN wrote @

SIR I AM doing diploma in ECE 5TH SEMESTER I WANTS TO DO PREPARATION OF IAS I HAVE PASSED BA 1ST IN 2006 SO P/Z TELL ME FIRST OF ALL I DID COMPLETE MY GRADUATION YA B.TECH

  R.Shanmugam wrote @

Am doing M.B.A. am want to join I.A.S. , what can i do ? tell me sugession

  Nidhi wrote @

Hi,
I am in 4th semester,is it necessary every time that one should go for coaching to prepare IAS exam,or one can go for home preparation?

  raj kamal wrote @

sir i am doing BBA last semester is running.so please tell me sir how can i join the ias post,how to prepare for ias post.it’s my great dream. i shall vey thankfull to you.

  swapnil wrote @

I am in the Final year of Computer engineering BE. Can i join IAS?

  swapnil wrote @

Please guide me which subjects i should i take in the IAS exam?
I am in the final year of BE Computer Engineering.
Can i join IAS after doing MTech in CSE from IITs or NITs?

  susan wrote @

hey if u want to study IAS then y u ppl joined for MBA and BE.? Do u think tat its an easy course.? I have written this exam 5 times , Being a Prof and MA graduate in history.Just you guys think about your future.Children don’t spoil your life’s.Time Once gone its gone for ever.I realised it later only.

  vijaykumar wrote @

Sir
You are right, but i’m from a poor family if i clear this IAS exam only I wil have my bright future.So do u think tat BE people can’t achive in it..? pls be frank..

  Benjamin wrote @

well its different perceptions for different individuals….some who have always sighted being an IAS as their only goal choose their subjects accordingly in their grad or post grad for that matter and go for it with all the grit.
and then there are few who like to play it on the safe side and have a back up like an M.B.A …M.B.B.S…BE…LLB…LLM…BTECH…MTECH ….and the list goes on for such professional degrees, which i guess again suits u accordingly ….as god forbid if u dont end up being a civil servant u can always rely on something else.
so i guess its individual discretion…buts it always works out well if u choose and know ur options well enough.

  ramesh wrote @

i want became an IAS officer… guide me if u can

  radha wrote @

hi…….im also an aspirant of i.a.s…i have completed my graduation and got married recently.now i want to prepare for it…becoz of my personnel reasons i could not took any step in that matter…so plz help me out regarding preparation,optional selection…..

  vishal patel wrote @

i m in 6th sem computer Engineering (B.E)….
i want to be a IAS Officer ……..
what is process i have to follow???
reply me as soon as possible….

  kamal wrote @

the one thing which i want to clear to every one that people who are totally dedicated towards ias can crack it no matter whats their qualification,

second is that some one say if u wanna ias then why u did b.tech , mba etc.
the answer is that when we enter in that type of courses our maturity level and decision power is not so well(may be) or we dont know what is ias n eligibility and aso other info about ias,

sometime v people are under preassure by our parents n v dont know what is right or wrong so v go there as our parents said.

so overall thing is that if u once decided that i wanna bcom ias then go over it with tan man n if someone offerd u millions of million refuse it n concentrate on ur goal bcz it is the last destination and also develop the passion n enthusiasm in urself that if i cant do it i cant live .it is my oxygen its my destination…….

so to all aspirants

best of luck:::::::::::::::::::::::::::

  ANSHU wrote @

sir ,
as the 5th semester student how shud i start .my preparation for ias.
and is this necessary that we had to go for the coaching at jnu??

  RAKESH wrote @

I THINK WE NEED TO MEND OUR WAYS,BCOZ ANKUR GARG TOPPED IAS NEVER MEANS WE START PREPARING FOR IAS.

BTW SEE HOW INDIA TREATS CIVIL OFFICERS.SEE FATE OF HEMANT KARKARE,ASHOK KAMTE.SEEING THIS I WOULD THINK 10 TIMES BEFORE WASTING MY TIME AND MONEY FOR IAS.

  lakshmi wrote @

sir, am lakshmi I would like join for I A S but I don’t now how go on what can I preapere education dady Idon’t now so that pls sagest me how go and I comple B.Com 2010 so that pls reply me.

  rattan wrote @

sir i am rattan kaur ,a girl of 13 studying in 8th.
i know i am to quick in thiking about the ways to be an ias but still i want to know .can you please help me .
thanking you ,
rattan

  rattan wrote @

please please please please help help meeeeeeeeeeee.

  niranjan sharma wrote @

sir i am niranjan sharma i am studing software
enginiring diploma and i want ias and i dont no about like this that how many age , qualification , so please sir tell me a about this
please help me.
thanks.

  deepak wrote @

m a medical student n also co

  nimisha wrote @

hi, i m nimisha, i complete my b.c.a in 2009 and i m want to study for i.a.s, so pls help me,
at first i want to know how can i apply for i.a.s?
pls help your best,
thank you,

  nimisha wrote @

hi, i m nimisha. i complete my b.c.a in 2009
i want to join i.a.s so pls i want to know how i can
apply for i.a.s

  prakash singh wrote @

sir
i am prakash kr singh now i give the exam of 10+2 sir did u guid me how i join IAS ?

  Farhat Fatima wrote @

hi..m Farhat,pursuing my B.A. final yr..how can i join IAF??

  DHARM DHISH AROSE wrote @

sir i am dharm dhish arose.pls suggest me how to start ias preparation.


Leave a Reply

